Press

Interview Requests

For media enquiries and interviews please contact Bonnie via the Contact page. You may also contact Caitlin Press at http://www.caitlin-press.com.

In the News

See Bonnie’s interview with Robin Stickley and Squire Barnes on Vancouver’s Global BC Noon News Hour on Nov. 9, 2015. http://globalnews.ca/bc/program/noon-news-hour-bc.

Catch Bonnie’s interview on September 14, 2015 with Jody Vance of City TV’s Breakfast Television, Vancouver.  http://www.btvancouver.ca/videos/4484090581001/

Matthew Claxton, “Langley Author Writes of Women’s Struggles in the RCMP.” The Langley Advance, Langley, BC. October 2015. http://www.langleyadvance.com/entertainment/330167241.html.

Rik Jesperson, “Author Details the Shadow Side of RCMP Culture,” The Local Weekly, Sunshine Coast, BC. September 2015. thelocalweekly.ca-Author details shadow side of RCMP culture.

Jan Degrass, “Words by Women Who Strive,” The Coast Reporter, Sunshine Coast, BC. September 2015.  http://://www.coastreporter.net/entertainment/arts-entertainment/words-by-women-who-strive-1.2061806.

Previous Interviews

Douglas Quan. “RCMP Sets an ‘Ambitious’ New Goal: Recruit as Many Women as Men.” National Post/Postmedia News, October 19 and 20, 2014. Visit http://o.canada.com/news/rcmp-sets-ambitious-recruitment-target-50-women/ 

Bonnie Reilly Schmidt quoted in Barb Pacholik, “Ladies in Red: Forty Years of Trials and Triumph,” The Leader Post (Regina), 20 September 2014. http://www.leaderpost.com/news/Ladies+years+RCMP+trials+triumph/10221136/story.html

Dene Moore. “Female Mounties Earn Right to Wear Pants and Boots With All Formal Uniforms.” The Canadian Press. August 16, 2012.

“First Ladies of the RCMP: The History of Women in the Force.” The Current with Anna Maria Tremonti. CBC Radio. November 30, 2011. See http://www.cbc.ca/thecurrent/episode/2011/11/30/first-ladies-of-the-rcmp—the-history-of-women-in-the-force/ and repeat airing on August 9, 2012. See http://www.cbc.ca/player/News/Canada/Audio/ID/2265454423/.html.

Dan Ferguson. “An Unofficial History of Women in the RCMP.” The Langley Times (Langley, B.C.). November 29, 2011.

May_1_2011_60th_Anniversary_1

Photo: Sheldon Boles

Charlie Gillis and Ken MacQueen. “The RCMP: A Royal Canadian Disgrace.” Macleans. November 18, 2011.

The Early Edition with Rick Cluff. CBC Radio One (Vancouver, BC). July 26, 2011.

Frieda Werden, The Spoken Word. CJSF Radio Simon Fraser University (Burnaby, BC). July 14, 2011.

Denise Ryan. “Blazing New Trails in the RCMP.” Vancouver Sun. July 4, 2011.

Denise Ryan. “Greatest Mancatchers Alive: Mountie Women Changed the Face of the Force.” Postmedia News. http://www.canada.com/html. July 4, 2011.

“The Weekend Morning News with Jill Bennett.” CKNW News Talk 980 (Vancouver, BC). July 3, 2011.